Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

BISD, FOR candidate forums set for Wednesday

Posted in:

Event at BHS Auditorium open to the public and will be live-streamed on The Star's Facebook page

  • Article Image Alt Text

Boerne Independent School District patrons and city of Fair Oaks Ranch residents will have the opportunity to hear from BISD board of trustees candidates and FOR residents seeking to become mayor as well as members of the city council on Wednesday, April 7, when The Boerne Star sponsors a candidate forum.

The event will take place in the Boerne High School Auditorium, with the BISD forum starting at 6 p.m. and the Fair Oaks Ranch forum getting underway at about 7:30 p.m.

The forums are open to the public. Masks will be required. The event also will be streamed live on The Star’s Facebook page. To view the event, visit The Star’s Facebook page on Wednesday evening and click on the scheduled candidate forum events at the top of the page.

Star Managing Editor Keith E. Domke will moderate the forums and ask both general and specific questions relating to the candidates and the issues at hand. 

“This is a nonpartisan election, and these forums will give voters an opportunity to hear from our candidates in a fair and impartial setting with no politics involved,” Domke said. “This is just another way your Boerne Star provides our community with the information it wants and needs to be able to make informed decisions.”

All candidates from both entities have been invited to participate. 

In Boerne ISD, Place 2 incumbent Joe Tidwell is being challenged by Jaymie Mangelsdorf. In Place 3, Dr. Kate Harrison and Jessica Davila-Burnett are vying for the seat current Trustee Alan Rich will vacate.

In Place 1, incumbent Carlin Friar has refiled and has no opposition.

In Fair Oaks Ranch, two council members are seeking to replace current mayor Garry Mantizas – Greg Maxton and Snehal Patel. Vacating their seats to seek the mayor position has caused two special elections on May 1 – in Places 5 and 6. 

Tim Corley, Scott Parker and J.C. Taylor are in the running in Place 5. Chesley Muenchow and Stephen May are the Place 6 candidates. There are also two individuals hoping to replace Place 1 Councilmember MaryAnne Havard. They are David Deleranko and Emily Stroup.

Each forum will be in a question-and-answer format where all candidates will have the opportunity to respond. There will be timed limits on answers and the order of response will rotate between the candidates.

The election is Saturday, May 1. Early voting gets underway on Monday, April 19, and ends on Tuesday, April 27.