Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Top academic seniors named at BISD high schools

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
  • Article Image Alt Text

Boerne ISD last week announced the valedictorian and salutatorian for the Boerne High School and Champion High School Class of 2020.

Earning the top two spots for Boerne High School are Valedictorian Katie Tehas, who will be attending the University of Texas at Austin and majoring in biology, and Salutatorian Sarah D’Spain, who will be attending the University of Notre Dame and majoring in neurology.

“My father once walked the halls of Boerne High and now, just as it is to him, it’s a memory to me,” Tehas said. “I’m grateful for the friendships I’ve made and the teachers who’ve supported me. I will never forget their guidance.

“Thank you to all who’ve helped me find myself during my time here.”

“It is an honor to be representing the Boerne High School Class of 2020 as salutatorian,” D’Spain said. “I will be forever grateful for the amazing faculty and staff that helped guide me through my high school journey. Purple Pride, Go ‘Hounds.”

For Champion High School, the valedictorian is Alexandra Purchatzke, who is headed to The University of Texas at Austin and will major in biochemistry. The salutatorian, Matthew Villescas, will attend Columbia University and major in computer science.

“I am humbled to be representing such an academically focused and achieved school,” Purchatzke said. “The Champion 2020 class is filled with many exceptional students, and our collective success would not be possible without the dedicated Champion teachers, administrators, and staff.”

“To me, the ‘number two’ is just as beautiful as any other number,” Villescas said. “I’m so grateful for the education I’ve been granted. The least I could do in return is show the Northeast how we Chargers solve equations down south.”

Top 10

The rest of the top 10-ranked students for Boerne High School are: 3. Katlyn Schmeltzer (Rice, mathematics), 4. Elizabeth Matney (UT-Austin, chemical engineering), 5. Zachary Moyer (Trinity University, cyber security/biomedical engineering), 6. John Ivey (UT-Austin, international studies/global relations), 7. Riley Clow (UT-Austin, engineering), 8. Georgette Hodge (undecided, archaeology), 9. Priya Agarwal (Texas A&M-College Station, biomedical science) and 10. Kendall Sales (UT – Austin, economics).

Champion’s remaining top 10-ranked academic students are: 3. Layne Bolli (Brigham Young University, engineering), 4. Kathryn Ellis (UT-Austin, mathematics), 5. Kathleen Drawdy (University of Tulsa, environmental policy), 6. Drew James (Yale University, political science and economics), 7. Dilan Bruns (UT-Austin, mechanical engineering), 8. Reese Burkey (Texas A&M University, biomedical sciences), 9. Terra Fiedler (Texas A&M University, dance science and physics) and 10. Ashlyn Fulgham (Columbia University, biomedical engineering).