Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

Boerne Champion boys soccer squad has 11 players earn all-district awards

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Champion boys soccer coach Clifton Tierney talks with his players after a match this year. The Chargers had 11 players make the all-district list and were one win away from clinching the 26-5A title before the season was postponed and eventually cancelled. Star photo: Kerry Barboza

Boerne Champion had 11 boys soccer players receive all-district 26-5A honors.

The Chargers didn’t finish their season, but only had a week left in district play when everything in the sports world came to a halt because of COVID-19.

Champion went 16-2-1 overall this past spring and was leading the 26-5A standings at 12-1-1 when the season was postponed and eventually cancelled.

For the Chargers, senior Coastas Heckman, junior Nakaii Bradbury, junior Nick Gaither and junior Cameron Herbold were firstteam all-district selections.

Junior Wilber Ramirez, sophomore Calvin Perryman, senior Ruben deLeon and junior Kyle Miller were all named to the 26-5A second team.

Honorable mention picks for the Chargers were junior Alec Garcia, junior Josh Land and senior Jack Staudt.

Champion’s last match came against Kennedy and the Chargers won handily, 8-1. The match against the Rockets was played on Monday March 9, during spring break. Champion had the rest of the week off and was scheduled to return to action after the break on Tuesday, March 17, but the season never resumed.

Champion was scheduled to play Kerrville Tivy and Wagner in the final week of district and needed just one more win to wrap up this year’s 26-5A title.

The Chargers were leading the 26-5A standings at 12-1-1 but Harlandale was behind them at 10-3-1 and also had two matches left in the season and could have caught Champion if they won out and the Chargers had lost out.

Champion and Harlandale split their two district matches this year with the Indians handing Champion its only 26-5A loss, so neither had the tiebreaker over the other, but again, just one more victory for the Chargers or a Halandale loss and Champion would have clinched the district title.

All-District 26-5A Boys Soccer 2020

Name Position Grade
First Team

Boerne Champion

Coastas Heckman Fwd Senior

Nakaii Bradbury Def Junior

Nick Gaither MF Junior

Cameron Herbold Def Junior


Wilton Avila Fwd Fresh

Timothy Vazquez CB Soph

Gabriel Carreno LB Junior


Edwin Salaices MF Junior

Alberto Espinoza MF Junior

David Tierranegra MF Senior

Veterans Memorial

Titus Coleman Fwd Senior

Jaden Pharris Fwd Junior

Juan Alvarado CB Senior


Diego Filerio LM Junior

William Flores GK Junior

Kerrville Tivy

Frank Molina Senior

Emmanuel Hernandez Junior

S.A. Memorial

Luis Munoz CB Senior

Sunday Beh RB Junior


Javier Calix Def MF/GK Soph


Brayan Cartagena MF Soph


Second Team

Boerne Champion

Wilber Ramirez MF Junior

Calvin Perryman MF Soph

Ruben deLeon Def Senior

Kyle Miller GK Junior


Luis Castro CM Junior

Marcos Garica LM Junior

Jose Elias-Perez  RB Junior


Francisco Hernandez Def Junior

Armando Hernandez MF Senior

Ruben Arredondo Def Junior

Veterans Memorial

Dylan Levasseur GK Senior

Noah Whaley MF Soph

Cole Cooper MF Junior


Sergio Bustos Roman CM Soph

Brian Martinez DM Senior

Kerrville Tivy

Hunter Hale Senior

Enrique Segura Soph

S.A. Memorial

Nicolas Toral Fwd Soph

Alder Rios-Castaneda MF Fresh


Fernando Garcia FB Senior


Diego Escamilla MF Senior


Honorable Mention (Champion only)

Alec Garcia MF Junior

Josh Land MF Junior

Jack Staudt  MF Senior